RSS Feed

EU bans use of animal-tested cosmetics, win!

Posted on

cute bunnies

Via the bright and fashionable blog, “I Want I Got” (authored by Anita, from my hometown, Toronto) the following news was posted recently and I was very happy about it. Since I’m sitting right smack on the edge of the EU right now, I found this especially important to share. Oh and, ah-hem, Canada, are you listening? Get with the program on this subject already and update our laws…..!

(direct quote from I Want, I Got):

The end is nigh—for animal testing, that is. Starting March 11, the European Union will ban the import and sale of new cosmetic products that were either tested on animals or contain ingredients that were tested on animals. The ban, which has been in the works since 2009, is the result of decades of campaigning from animal-rights campaigners, including Anita Roddick, the late founder of The Body Shop, who joined members of the European Coalition to End Animal Experiments in 1996 to present the European Commission with a petition containing 4 million signatures denouncing the practice. The new regulations will apply to all personal-care products and toiletries, no matter how luxury or quotidian, from wrinkle cream to toothpaste.”

Right-the-f*ck-on.

-sandy.

 

 

(image source)

About sandyb

gal about town. you? no twitter here.

Leave a comment